WebKit GTK+ Port

Epiphany is always my browser-of-choise for my daily internet activities. It’s build on the real GTK, it’s simple, it’s light, and it’s integrated to Gnome. It is the konqueror of gnome. I’ve never had any memory leak when using Epiphany.

Epiphany is definitely fulfil my needs. I don’t need Firefox. Firefox is used only when I need it’s awesome Web Developer plugin (and Firebug, but now it didn’t work on Firefox 3 beta 5). I only use firefox when I need to design some html pages. Other than that, Epiphany is the answer. What? Adblock? Oh epiphany does have adblock.

But there is one think I always want to see in epiphany, the ability to choose rendering engine. Konqueror has this option. Konqueror user could pick Gecko or KHTML as the rendering engine. And now, KDE4 has webkit-enabled konqueror. Webkit itself is KHTML fork, and been said to be faster and better than Gecko (citation needed). Who doesn’t want faster browsing experience?

And now my dream is coming. Apparently, WebKit is being ported to GTK+. And if that is not good enough, it passed acid3 test, 100/100. For a comparison, Epiphany using Gecko 1.9 only scored 71/100.

Nice job for everyone involved. I can’t wait to use it🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

